Effects of Marijuana on Weight Gain and Bone Density

Are the apparent adverse effects of heavy cannabis use on bone just due to users being skinnier?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org’s free newsletter to receive our fasting infographic that covers the latest research on the risks and benefits of different types of fasting: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

I originally released a series of marijuana videos in a webinar and downloadable digital DVD (https://drgreger.org/collections/downloads/products/cannabis-what-does-the-science-say-digital?utm_source=docnote&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=digital_dl_mj). There are still a few coming out over the next year, but if you missed any of the published ones, here they are:
· The Institute of Medicine Report on the Health Effects of Marijuana (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/The-Institute-of-Medicine-Report-on-the-Health-Effects-of-Marijuana)
· Researching the Health Effects of Marijuana (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Researching-the-Health-Effects-of-Marijuana)
· Is Marijuana Addictive? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Is-Marijuana-Addictive)
· Does Marijuana Cause Health Problems? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Does-Marijuana-Cause-Health-Problems)
· Does Marijuana Cause Permanent Brain Damage in Teens? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Does-Marijuana-Cause-Permanent-Brain-Damage-in-Teens)
· Does Marijuana Cause Permanent Brain Damage in Adults? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Does-Marijuana-Cause-Permanent-Brain-Damage-in-Adults)
· Will Cannabis Turn into Big Tobacco? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/will-cannabis-turn-into-big-tobacco)
· Marijuana Legalization & the Opioid Epidemic (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Marijuana-Legalization-and-the-Opioid-Epidemic)
· Effects of Smoking Marijuana on the Lungs (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/effects-of-smoking-marijuana-on-the-lungs)
· Smoking Marijuana vs. Using a Cannabis Vaporizer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Smoking-Marijuana-vs-Using-a-Cannabis-Vaporizer)
· Does Marijuana Cause Lung Cancer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-marijuana-cause-lung-cancer)
· Can Cannabis Cure Cancer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/can-cannabis-cure-cancer)
· Are Cannabis Edibles Safe? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-cannabis-edibles-safe)
· Pesticides in Marijuana (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/pesticides-in-marijuana)
· The Effects of Marijuana on Fertility & Pregnancy (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-effects-of-marijuana-on-fertility-and-pregnancy/)
· Does Marijuana Cause Schizophrenia? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-marijuana-cause-schizophrenia)

For more on bone health, see:
· Phytates for the Prevention of Osteoporosis (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/phytates-for-the-prevention-of-osteoporosis/)
· Is Milk Good for Our Bones? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-milk-good-for-our-bones/)
· Are Calcium Supplements Safe? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-calcium-supplements-safe)
· Are Calcium Supplements Effective? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-calcium-supplements-effective)
· Almonds for Osteoporosis (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/almonds-for-osteoporosis)
· Prunes for Osteoporosis (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/prunes-for-osteoporosis/)
· Keto Diets: Muscle Growth & Bone Density (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/keto-diets-muscle-growth-and-bone-density/)

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/effects-of-marijuana-on-weight-gain-and-bone-density and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/effects-of-marijuana-on-weight-gain-and-bone-density. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”
Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

Image credit: Pxhere.com

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• PREORDER: How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-to-survive-a-pandemic/
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

source

Comments are closed.

× Order via Whatsapp?